News:

A forum for users of LackeyCCG

Main Menu

Separate forums?

Started by j5bot, September 10, 2012, 08:36:28 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

j5bot

I'm new to LackeyCCG and trying to create a plugin for a simple game I'm designing.  I am baffled that there are not separate forums for plugins and plugin development.  I assume there's a lot of good information here that's not yet in any tutorial, but I don't know that I'll ever find it trying to search or sort through the forum manually.

I'll start another thread to ask for help ... but I am definitely suggesting that the plugin authoring and plugin using / information areas of the forum be split so that plugin authors have a better way to look at existing questions and answers.

Trevor

There is a forum for plugins, and a forum for CCG Design Forum. I don't want to have too many forums because people will get confused.

groveland

Another new user here, I'm kind of with j5bot on this.

Mixing discussion of existing plugins with discussion of creating new plugins is making finding answers next to impossible here. I have a lot of more in-depth questions that the tutorial is not covering, and having to wade through pages of threads of people arguing about what images aren't included in the 40k plugin is making this a lot harder than it has to be.

Trevor

So you want separate forums for existing and nascent plugins? That's a really blurry line. Since you can make a functional plugin within minutes, it doesn't really leave much time for it to not be in the regular plugins forum. And I really think people would be confused where they should post if I try to separate the forums more.

innuendo

What I think they (and I) would appreciate is two forums

Plugin Development (Questions and discussion relating to building and supporting plugins)
Plugin Discussion (Questions and discussion about using plugins others made)