News:

A forum for users of LackeyCCG

Main Menu

Supporting Trevor

Started by picks-at-flies, June 04, 2010, 05:34:26 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

picks-at-flies

I thought this would be a good opportunity to remind you all that Trevor provides not only his programming but his server and maintenance time for free.  If everyone who used Lackey gave him $5 I figure that might part of the cost of his new computer.  If everyone who used Lackey more than the $50 game they bought last month gave half of that to Trevor, we might cover all of it and some of his other costs, maybe even a clean T-shirt*.

Just saying.

* I have no personal knowledge on this subject, for which I am grateful.

greasontim

I'll donate when i can but right now i can't

briggs

Ultimately, I'm afraid that free programs seldom get the kind of donations they should get. But there are other ways to generate revenue, advertising on the website and forums, selling t-shirts on cafepress etc

Just Mick

Unfortunately asking for donations (really the best way to go) is generally incompatible with most revenue generation schemes. Take for example online advertising. Google is most popular, but Google will not let you run its ads if you are asking for donations in any form. I've been thru this personally, and for many other reasons (if you've ever partnered with Google) I don't recommend anything Google to anyone...

It will seem like your Google ads are just dandy until the first time Google is obligated to cut you a check. Your site will be audited and if any request for donations or support are discovered your account will be denied access to all Google services, even the site indexing will shut down on you. I have been making some leaps and bounds attempting to replace Google's Custom Search service with my own YaCy servers over the last year or two. You're really left high and dry once Google blacklists you.